Romantic Reads

If enjoy reading romantic fiction, today’s Top 5 Tuesday theme is for you as I’m giving you a list of 5 books with a bit of romance. I don’t normally read books that have much romance (in fact, looking through my Goodreads I was surprised how little romance I’ve read) but here are some books with relationships I love.

Aristotle and Dante discover the secrets of the universe – This is such a sweet LGBT love story between two boys who start out as friends and finally realise their true feelings. I think the writing style is what makes this novel stand out to me, it’s so beautiful that it feels like the whole book could be a giant quote.

Dear John – Dear John is probably the closest I’ve come to reading a purely romantic book. I really like the North Carolina setting and the time period of the early 00s was interesting to read about as again I haven’t read much specifically set in this period. I also really loved the film because I adore Amanda Seyfried.

On Day – One Day is my favourite romantic novel, because I love the time period of the 90’s and early 00’s, as well as the fact that it’s one of the only books I’ve read with the main characters in their 20s. It’s a great look at how we grow in that decade of our lives, and how relationships change as we change as people.

Image result for one day book  cover

PS I love you – This book made me cry so much. For me it really encapsulates the feeling of grief, yet I love the fun times and funny moments that Holly has with her friends thanks to Gerry’s letters.

Image result for ps i love you cover book

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda – This is another of my favourite LGBT romances. Simon and his online penpal “boyfriend” are so sweet in the way they email each other, and I really liked the reveal of Blue’s real identity.

7 thoughts on “Romantic Reads

Leave a comment